

County Supervisor Diane Burgis

Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors, District 3

RECEIVED 4/5/23

COMMITTEES:

Airports Committee, Chair Delta Protection Commission, Chair Open Space/Parks & East Bay Regional Parks District Liaison Committee, Chair

Transportation, Water & Infrastructure Committee, Chair Contra Costa Health Plan Joint Conference Committee, Vice Chair Internal Operations Committee, Vice Chair

Legislation Committee, Vice Chair Bay Area Counties Caucus California Identification System Remote Access Network Board (Cal-ID RAN Board) Contra Costa Family Justice Alliance Delta Counties Coalition Delta Stewardship Council East Contra Costa County Habitat Conservancy, Governing Board East Contra Costa Regional Fee & Finance Authority East County Water Management Association

eBART Partnership Policy Advisory Committee

Illegal Dumping Ad Hoc Committee Northern Waterfront Economic Development Ad Hoc Committee Regional Impact Council, All-Home Steering Committee

Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy Board

State Route 4 Bypass Authority TRANSPLAN (East County Transportation Planning) Tri-Delta Transit Authority Board of Directors

SERVING AS ALTERNATE:

ABAG Executive Board ABAG General Assembly Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA) CSAC Board of Directors Dougherty Valley Oversight Committee East Bay Regional Communication System (EBRCS) Authority Governing Board Local Agency Formation Commission

San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority

March 30, 2023

Chair Trish Bello-Kunkel Knightsen Town Community Services District P.O. Box 763 Knightsen, CA 94548

Re: Knightsen Town Community Services District

Dear Chair Bello-Kunkel,

As the Contra Costa County Supervisor for District 3, which encompasses all Far East County, I make appointments to the many advisory bodies and commissions, including the Knightsen Town Advisory Council (KTAC), that serve as advisors to me and my staff. One of the primary roles is keeping me aware of the community's needs and concerns. I am writing because members of the KTAC have expressed concern to me that the Knightsen Town Community Services District has not been carrying out its duties as required.

The Knightsen Town Community Services District (KTCSD) was created to enhance flood control projects within the unincorporated community of Knightsen. This year's storms and flooding have made it even more clear that the Knightsen community needs to work together to be prepared to address flood control issues, and KTCSD's work is more important now than it has been in years. With KTCSD's recent application to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) for dissolution, KTAC members are concerned that the KTCSD Board has not been carrying out its obligations. KTAC members are seeking answers to the following questions:

- What enhanced flood control projects has KTCSD reviewed and/or completed?
- What community education has KTCSD provided to residents on flood preparedness (i.e., personal property owner preparedness please provide examples of all educational communication in your response)?



COMMITTEES:

Airports Committee, Chair Delta Protection Commission, Chair Open Space/Parks & East Bay **Regional Parks District Liaison** Committee, Chair Transportation, Water & Infrastructure Committee, Chair Contra Costa Health Plan Joint Conference Committee, Vice Chair Internal Operations Committee, Vice Chair Legislation Committee, Vice Chair

Bay Area Counties Caucus California Identification System **Remote Access Network Board**

(Cal-ID RAN Board) Contra Costa Family Justice Alliance

Delta Counties Coalition

Delta Stewardship Council

East Contra Costa County Habitat

Conservancy, Governing Board East Contra Costa Regional Fee & **Finance Authority**

East County Water Management Association

eBART Partnership Policy Advisory Committee

Illegal Dumping Ad Hoc Committee Northern Waterfront Economic Development Ad Hoc Committee

Regional Impact Council, All-Home Steering Committee

Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy Board

State Route 4 Bypass Authority TRANSPLAN (East County Transportation Planning) Tri-Delta Transit Authority Board of Directors

SERVING AS ALTERNATE:

ABAG Executive Board ABAG General Assembly Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA) CSAC Board of Directors Dougherty Valley Oversight Committee East Bay Regional Communication System (EBRCS) Authority Governing Board Local Agency Formation Commission

San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority

County Supervisor Diane Burgis

Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors, District 3

- Given recent 500-year atmospheric river storm events, what role has the KTCSD played in the response to these storms in Knightsen?
- What is the strategic plan for the continued operations of the • KTCSD if LAFCO denies its application for dissolution?

As elected officials we have a responsibility to be available for our constituents and fulfill our obligations to the voters. I look forward to your response to KTAC's questions,

Sincerely,

ne Burg-

Diane Burgis Contra Costa County Supervisor, District 3

925-655-2330